GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Pfeiffer earns ACCC Championship win!

Winston-Salem, NC – After much confusion and a scoring glitch with computers, Pfeiffer Cycling walked away from the final race of the season this weekend as the 2009 ACCC Road Champions.  After a ten week road racing season the Falcon Cycling team pulled off the overall victory after racing 12 separate races this weekend. Racing in the Wake Forest hosted event were Appalachian State, St. Mary's, Duke, Georgetown, Johns Hopkins, William and Mary, Virginia Commonwealth, George Washington, and UNC – Wilmington.

The season began in February with the Falcons taking an early first place lead.  Each race was hard fought to maintain the necessary points to stay the front runner. The conference came down to Pfeiffer and ASU battling for first place.  With weekend wins from Joey Rosskopf (Decatur, GA), Aaron Blackwell (New Orleans, LA), Kirsten Fee (Wesley Chapel, FL), and Cameron Auton (Indian Trail, NC) the Falcons pushed closer to the overall title. The team earned even more points as BJ Harris (Midway, NC), Alex Stratmann (Lewisburg, WV), Michael Brown (Kernersville, NC), Steve Schott (Coraopolis, PA), and Matt Tyndall (Newport, NC) crossed the line in good placing. Turner Johnson (Renfrew, PA) was ill this weekend but earned points for the team throughout the season.

The Cycling team ended the this year in 6th place nationally in track racing,  2nd  overall in ACCC mountain bike racing and in 10th place nationally in mountain bike racing, as well as being the 2009 ACCC Road Champions.
Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner