GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies to take place on September 25

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – The deferred 2008 Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies will take place on Friday, September 25, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the Stokes Student Center Community Room. The 2008 inductees are: Keith Crisco ('64), Jason Cox ('93), Matt Harmer ('98) and Stephanie Ferri-Lewis (’94), a deferred inductee from 2007.

Crisco (’64), a native of Stanly County, enters the Pfeiffer Hall of Fame as a long time booster of Falcons athletics. He has served on numerous school boards, and organizational associations during his lifetime, including Chairman of Pfeiffer’s board of trustees from 1981-2008 and a chairman position with the Randolph County Economic Development Corporation.  He is presently a City Councilman with the City of Asheboro, and began his new position as the North Carolina Secretary of Commerce this past January.

Crisco’s political career began in 1970-1971 as a White House Fellow in Washington as an assistant to the Secretary of Commerce.  Before his appointment, he held various positions with Burlington Industries, and also served as president and chairman of Asheboro Elastics Corporation for over 20 years. 

Cox (’93), a member of the Men’s Golf team during the 1992 and 1993 seasons, led the Falcons to a conference championship and district championship in ’93. He finished the year with a 17th place finish at the NCAA national tournament and finished as the 10th-best golfer in the country.

During his first season with the Falcons in ’92, Cox turned out to be the conference player of the year finishing with medalist honors in three events, including the year-end conference tournament.  He wrapped up his first year finishing 20th in the 1992 NCAA national tournament, featuring 190 golfers, in what turned out to be an All-American year.

Harmer (’98) spent four years in Misenheimer with the men’s soccer team. During his freshman year in 1994, Harmer ended up as an All-American as he helped the Falcons snag the conference title tallying 16 career goals as a defender. He was a first-team all-south and first-team all-conference member during his four year tenure at Pfeiffer, including another on-the-field All-American award in 1997 to go along with all four of his Academic All-American awards.

Harmer was named captain as a freshman and carried that honor throughout his four year career. During his time off the field, he served as an assistant on the women’s soccer team from ’94-’97. In his final season, he was named Pfeiffer’s male athlete of the year, an Umbro All-Star Select Player and was drafted by the U.S.L.’s A-League El Paso Patriots.

Ferri-Lewis (’94) is a 2007 deferred inductee into the Hall of Fame. She was a three sport star at Pfeiffer in Cross Country, Swimming and Soccer. Ferri-Lewis was the Pfeiffer Female Athlete of the Year in 1992, 1993 and 1994 backing her 1993-1994 Murphy Osbourne Award and her NCAA North Carolina Scholar Athlete Woman of the Year award in 1994.

Ferri-Lewis was the team captain of women’s soccer during the inaugural season in 1994. She was team captain with swimming for three years, a national qualifier in all four years to go along with a pair of team MVP awards and an Academic All-America in ’94. For cross country, she kept the captain’s title all four years along with the team MVP honor. For three of her four years, she ran away with all-conference, all-district and national qualifier awards. She was also a member of the conference all-scholar athlete team helping lead her teammates to the 1992 conference championship.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner