GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Men's Cross Country Finishes 7th at Conference Carolinas Meet

Story Courtesy of Conference Carolinas and Queens Sports Information

CHARLOTTE, N.C.†Ė In what turned out to be a perfect afternoon, the Queens University of Charlotte menís cross country turned in a perfect score of 15 to win the 2009 Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championship hosted by Queens at McAlpine Creek Park in Charlotte, N.C.

The title is the second for the Royals under Head Coach Scott Simmons and second title in three years for the Royals.

Oscar Ogwaro led the field of 82 with a time of 24:18 on the 8,000-meter course. The 4:54 paced time matches the current best run at a Conference Carolinas Champions, a record set by former Queens runner Daniel Kanyaruhuru in 2007.†

The next three runners will also etch their names in the Conference Carolinas Championship record books, taking the next top spots. Futsum Mebrahtu ran the entire race with Ogward came in just three seconds behind him at 24:21. Simon Stuetzel was the median runner for the Royals in third place with a run of 25:03. Nelson Mwangi registered a time of 25:19 and the last scoring member for Queens was Matt Rowell with a time of 25:39. Alex Shilling kept the Queens pattering alive by crossing the line in sixth place, 25:47.

Andersonís Alex Jordan broke the Queens streak in seventh place by running the 8,000-meter run in a time of 25:57. Rounding out the top 10 racers were Adam Groblewski from Erskine (25:29), Justus Kirwa of Limestone (26:10), and Brian Yates of Queens (26:20).

Finishes for Pfeiffer were Matt Tyndall (27:59/27th), Will Oliver (29:05/36th), Daniel Barnhardt (29:23/37th), Josh Roberts (29:49/42nd), Zack Allen (30:28/45th), Zach Gray (31:07/51st), and Grady Gaston (34:43/72nd).

Following the race Shilling was named the Freshman of the Year, Ogwaro the Runner of the year and Simmons took home the Coach of the Year award.

The top five finishers are named All-Conference First Team, the next five are All-Conference Second Team and the 11-15 finishers are All-Conference Third Team.

Up next for many if not all of the teams is the 2009 Southeast Regional Championship on November 7 at Wingate University.

Click HERE for Full Individual Results

Click HERE for Full Team Results

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner