GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Women's Cross Country Comes in 7th at CC Meet; Phillips Finishes 9th and Garners All-Conference Second Team Honors

Story Courtesy of Conference Carolinas and Queens Sports Information

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – It was a battle of Southeast Region powerhouses today at the 2009 Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championship hosted by Queens University of Charlotte at McAlpine Creek Park in Charlotte, N.C. The current top-ranked team in the region, Queens, captured its first-ever conference crown with a score of 50, two points better than the second team in the region, Lees-McRae.

Anderson’s Whiteny Bishoff showed her stuff to win the individual title in the 5,000-meter run. Bishoff jumped out to a 30-meter lead then extended her lead even further to finish 28 seconds faster than the next racer, Jessica Neville.  The title is Bishoff’s second in as many years and her time of 18:00 lops off 55 seconds from her own record as the fastest time in Conference Carolinas Championship history.  As a team Anderson placed fourth.

Neville led the five Queens runners to their first conference title in program history with her time of 18:28.The time is a personal best for Neville and also a new Queens school record. Behind Neville was Freshman of the Year Maraya Slatter took third place with a time of 18:36.

Limestone’s Courtney Rankin and Quanika Blackmon rounded out the five top finishers and turned in times of 18:52 and 19:10.

The first four times turned in are the four fastest times run in Conference Carolinas Championship meet history.

A mix of schools rounded out the top 10 with Holly Annas of Queens placing sixth, Kira Shoemaker and Carla Swart of Lees-McRae in seventh and eighth, Lindsey Phillips of Pfeiffer in ninth (19:40) and April Harris of Belmont Abbey in 10th. 

Other times for Pfeiffer include Kaitlyn Mullis (20:50/24th), Magen Abernathy (21:27/33rd), Yasmin Ingram (23:24/59th), Rachel Biggerstaff (23:39/64th), April Hinson (23:59/68th) and Chelsea Tysinger (24:59/76th).

The top five finishers are named All-Conference First Team, the next five are All-Conference Second Team and the 11-15 finishers are All-Conference Third Team.

Bishoff was named the Runner of the Year, Slatter Freshman of the Year and Queens Head Coach Scott Simmons earned the distinction of Coach of the Year.

Up next for many, if not all, of the teams is the 2009 Southeast Regional Championship on November 7 at Wingate University.

Click HERE for Full Individual Results

Click HERE for Full Team Results

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner