GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Team Pfeiffer Cycling Racks Up Three Wins and Seven Top-5 Finishes at NCSU Event

MISENHEIMER, N.C. – Team Pfeiffer Cycling began the 2010 racing schedule this past weekend at N.C. State claiming three individual race wins and a total of seven top-five finishes. Saturday’s action was cancelled due to snow and ice leave a full day of racing on Sunday with Pfeiffer and 15 other division one and division two schools.

In the men’s “A” race, Justin Beard was able to get into a break on the first of eight hilly laps with the lead pack. At the end Beard, who is the current N.C. State Road Race Champion, easily pulled away from his nearest competitors taking first place over the entire field. Michael Robinson raced hard for placed fourth place in the same event.

In the women’s “A” event, after suffering a mechanical mishap with her rear brakes, Kirsten Fee fought back to finish fourth in the ladies event. 

In the men’s “B”, Arturo Bencosme fought hard and flew past many competitors on the long, uphill, 200-meter sprint to the finish line. Bencosme also finished in the top-five scoring a fourth-place overall finish.

Two other Lady Falcons scored wins in their first-ever collegiate race. Stephanie Bunnett took first-place in the women “B” event while Paige Beard tallied the victory in the women’s “C” race.

One of the largest fields of the day turned out to be the men’s “D” event A new race for the rookie collegiate racers, Eric Sekercan timed his final sprint to perfection and took second-place in the newly-acquired event. 

Team Pfeiffer Cycling will head back out on the road this weekend traveling to the Winston-Salem area to participate in Wake Forest’s ACCC event. Saturday and Sunday action is slated to begin at 8:00 a.m.

D2 Overall results:
Men's A - Justin Beard—1st place
Men's A - Michael Robinson—4th 

**Beard is the Overall Race leader for both D1 and D2 schools

Men's B - Arturo Bencosme - 4th

Men's D - Eric Sekercan - 2nd

Women A’s - Kirsten Fee - 4th

Women B’s - Stephanie Bunnett - 1st

Women C’s - Paige Beard - 1st

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner