GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Conference Carolinas 2011 Preview: Athletes to Watch

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas men’s volleyball teams kick-off the 2011 season with teams beginning play next weekend.   Following the recent announcement of men’s volleyball becoming a full conference sport beginning with next year’s 2012 spring season, this will be the second and final year Conference Carolinas will sponsor men’s volleyball as an emerging sport. Next year’s 2012 season will sustain enough member schools to be classified as an official conference sport while also becoming the first NCAA Division II league nationwide to fully support the sport.

This year’s regular season starts Friday, January 14th and will culminate with a two team conference championship.  The conference championship will be hosted by the highest seeded team based on final regular season results on Thursday, April 21, 2011.

Teams sponsoring men’s volleyball this year that will compete in league play will be Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, and King College*. Follow Conference Carolinas men’s volleyball throughout the season at http://www.conferencecarolinas.com/sports/mvball/index.

(*- Affiliate conference member for men’s volleyball.) 

2011 Conference Carolinas Men’s Volleyball ‘Athletes to Watch’

Lees-McRae: Juan Ramirez, Sr., Setter, Miami, FL & Chad Mercado, Sr., Middle Blocker, Orlando, FL
Limestone: Scott Schweihoffer, Sr., Outside Hitter, Marysville, MI  & , Andrew Pile, So., Setter, Macungie, PA
Mount Olive: Angel Dache, So., Outside Hitter, Havana, Cuba & Adam Miracle, So., Outside Hitter, Cincinnati, OH
Pfeiffer: Mark Hess, So, Libero, Lebanon, PA & Drew Burdette, Jr, Outside Hitter, Greer, SC
King: Joel Salva, Sr. Setter, Lake Mary, FL & Morris Cephas, Sr. Libero, Richmond, VA

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference made up of 11 teams from North Carolina and South Carolina. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.  For the upcoming 2011-12 academic year King College (Bristol, TN) and North Greenville University (Tigerville, SC) will join as full Conference Carolinas league members.

Conference Carolinas is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II.  Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions, and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions.  Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner