GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Conference Carolinas Goes Divisions; League Play Even More Crucial Beginning in 2011-2012

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas announces new scheduling and divisional changes that will start for the upcoming 2011-12 playing seasons. With the recent official new member additions of King College and North Greenville University (June 1st 2011), individual schedules had to change in order to incorporate the scope of conference schedules with the growth from 11 to 13 teams that will now be competing in the league. 

The conference’s principles of “Academics & Athletics Working Together” were at the heart of all conversations and changes that formed the modifications that will take place.  Conference athletics directors, administrators, faculty, officials and coaches discussed all issues ranging from aspects of conference & regional competition, financial expenses, missed-class time and complete student-athlete welfare issues.

For the sports of baseball, tennis, soccer, and softball all regular season games will remain in single round robin play.  Divisions (see below structure) will be used only to determine a regular season champion/co-champion for each division. Each division winner will receive the top two tournament seeds (No. 1 & No. 2 based on the higher overall conference winning percentage).  After determining the top two seeds, all remaining tournament seeds will fall into place based on overall (not divisional) conference winning percentage.

For the sports of basketball and women’s volleyball each regular season will consist of a modified double round robin format where each school will be playing each team in their division twice and each team in the other division once.  Each division will crown a divisional regular season champion/co-champion and receive a No. 1 tournament seed in their bracket side.  Tournament seeding will be based on the top four teams from each division where each division bracket will then play in a cross-divisional bracket format.

All other sports that include cross-country, golf, lacrosse, men’s volleyball, and track & field, will not be affected by divisional structure due to their regular season scheduling structure or because currently there are not enough teams for that particular sport to move to divisions at this time.  These sports will continue to crown a regular season champion/co-champion and will not be affected by the divisional structure.

Conference Carolinas Divisional Structure
(Note: Initially modeled using the I-77 corridor separating East from West.)

Mount Olive
St. Andrews

Belmont Abbey
North Greenville

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 13 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner