GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Cox, Hollinger and Smith Selected to All-Conference Teams for Men and Women's Basketball

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas announces the 2011-12 Men’s & Women’s Basketball All-Conference Teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Freshmen of the Year award winners in conjunction with the Conference Carolinas Basketball Tournament Championships taking place this week at league institutions. Pfeiffer University had Brittany Cox (Winston-Salem, NC), who led the league in scoring, represent the Lady Falcons on the first team while the men saw Reggie Hollinger (2nd team) and Danny Smith (3rd team) represent the Falcons.

The conference championships started Monday with the top eight teams qualifying for quarterfinal action. Semifinal play resumed Thursday (women) and Friday night (men) with the championship finals on Saturday (women) and Sunday (men). All games are played at the highest remaining seed with the tournament Champion receiving an automatic berth to the NCAA DII championships.

Women’s Player of the Year
Porsha Morgan, Erskine

Senior guard Porsha Morgan from Columbus, GA finished second in Conference Carolinas in scoring and assists in leading the Erskine Flying Fleet to a 13-14 overall record and 10-8 conference mark this year. For her career, Morgan is second all-time in scoring and assists in Erskine women’s basketball history.

Women’s Freshman of the Year
Courtney Friddle, North Greenville

Courtney Friddle has been a welcome addition to the North Greenville Women’s Basketball team this season. A freshman from Greenville, South Carolina, Friddle earned a starting role early and flourished averaging 8.5 points per game, and 5.7 rebounds. Friddle’s best output of the season was 24 points against Pfeiffer.

Women’s Coach of the Year
Corey Fox, Limestone

Head Coach Corey Fox guided the 2011-12 Saints to their best season in program history, leading the Blue and Gold to a record-breaking 24-6 overall mark and a 16-2 showing against league opponents this year. Limestone clinched the team’s first-ever regular season title with the Western Division Championship and locked down the top overall seed in the Conference Carolinas Tournament.

Women’s All-Conference 1st-Team
Porsha Morgan, Erksine
Maria Young, Limestone
Amber Lau, Coker
Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer
Shonice Pettaway, Queens

Women’s All-Conference 2nd-Team
Tamara Nesmith, Mount Olive
Nyeshea Willie, Barton
Kaileigh West, Limestone
Andrea Jones, Mount Olive
Karly Stache, North Greenville

Women’s All-Conference 3rd Team
Christina Carlis, North Greenville
Jannetta Robinson, Barton
Tia Williams, Limestone
Jessica Cohen, Coker
Krisceda Cotton, North Greenville

Women’s Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Barton College

Women’s Western Division Regular Season Champions
Limestone College

Men’s Player of the Year
Craig Hayes, Mount Olive

After having to sit out all of last year with a preseason injury, Craig Hayes had the best season of his collegiate career as he helped Mount Olive to its seventh 20-win season in the last nine years. Hayes leads the conference and ranks 14th in the nation with a 60.4 percent field goal percentage. He’s also second in the conference in scoring (18.8 ppg), tied for sixth in rebounding (7.0 rpg) and third in three-point field goal percentage (43.5 percent). Hayes is the only player ranked in the top six in the conference in those four categories.

Men’s Freshman of the Year
Logan Lyle, King

Lyle began and ended his freshman campaign strong, starting the year with five double-digit scoring efforts and finishing the season with eight additional 10-plus point games in his last nine starts. The Unicoi, Tenn., native shot north of 40 percent from the field and three-point range through 29 games this season and was the team's third leading scorer with 399 points, averaging 13.8 per game this season while leading the team with nine blocks.

Men’s Coach of the Year
George Pitts, King

Head Coach George Pitts led the 2011-12 Tornado team to the Conference Carolinas Western Division Regular Season title. In their first year in the league King started strong by posting the conference’s best regular season record going 14-2 in league play. The Tornado continue to win consistently building their fifth of sixth 20+ win seasons under Pitts as they are currently 23-6 overall this year.

Men’s All-Conference 1st-Team
Craig Hayes, Mount Olive
Daniel Bailey, Queens
Brian Hewitt, King
Tyshawn Good, Belmont Abbey
Gerald Boston, Barton

Men’s All-Conference 2nd-Team
Paul Harrison, North Greenville
Eddie Piccinini, King
Corey Sorrell, Erskine
Derek Staton, Mount Olive
Reggie Hollinger, Pfeiffer

Men’s All-Conference 3rd Team
Danny Smith, Pfeiffer
Antonio Stabler, Queens
Sharod Williams, Coker
Andrew Morris, Coker
Jeremiah Henry, Lees-McRae

Men’s Eastern Division Regular Season Champions
Queens University of Charlotte

Men’s Western Division Regular Season Champions
King College

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Queens University of Charlotte.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner