GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Athens Named a Second Team All-American by Synapse Sports

MISENHEIMER, N.C. - Pfeiffer University women's lacrosse standout Katherine Athens has been named a second-team All American by Synapse Sports announced on Wednesday. Athens has also been named to the IWLCA's All-Region South team and Conference Carolinas' first-team. Athens set a new school-record for caused turnovers in a season with 41 while tying the mark in a game at seven. A complete list of Player's of the Year and All-American teams are below.

Goalie of the Year - Kelly Fucillo, Le Moyne

Fucillo was a rock all season for Le Moyne, ranking second in the nation in save percentage at 52.8% despite facing one of the toughest schedules in the nation. She added the top GAA in the country at just over 7 goals a game and ranked second on the team in ground balls.

Defender of the Year - Courtney Bianculli, Rollins

Bianculli helped the Tars to the top seed in the South Region and a No. 4 ranking in scoring defense while ranking in the top-12 nationally in caused turnovers and ground balls.

Midfielder of the Year - Brittany Brigandi, Le Moyne

Brigandi had the Dolphins at the top of the league all season long, leading Le Moyne in points and goals while ranking second in draw controls and ground balls. The Dolphins faced a top-ten schedule and still led the nation in scoring defense. The Northeast-10 Player of the Year averaged more than four points a game on a balanced squad that had four 50-point scorers on the season.

Attacker of the Year - Jackie Sileo, C. W. Post

Sileo led the nation in scoring, averaging more than seven points a game, and led her Pioneers to the NCAA title with a record-setting performance in the tournament. She was as adept at scoring as she was at setting up her teammates, showing her versatility in the final weekend with a flurry of goals in the title game, a day after she demonstrated her ability to lead the team by setting up her teammates.

Rookie of the Year - Samantha McCarrick, Limestone

McCarrick was an excellent addition for the Saints in 2012, ranking second on the team in scoring while ranking fourth in draw controls. The Conference Carolinas Rookie of the Year, McCarrick added phenomenal depth for Limestone throughout the season and helped them advance to the NCAA tournament.

Unsung Hero of the Year - Katie Rotan, C. W. Post

Rotan played a key role for the Pioneers throughout the season, adding depth in the attack and gaining key possessions for them off the draw. She could score when C. W. Post needed a goal, and she ranked second on the team in ground balls as well as draw controls.

Coach of the Year - Dennis Short, Rollins

Short was able to lead the Tars into the NCAA tournament for the first time in school history, earning the No. 1 seed in the south along the way. Rollins defeated five ranked teams on the season and ranked second in the nation in scoring margin nationally.

First Team All-Americans
 Courtney Bianculli, Rollins
 Brittany Brigandi, Le Moyne
 Erica Devito, Adelphi
 Chelsea Donaldson, C.W. Post
 Tori Dugan, West Chester
 Aubrey Duncan, New Haven
 Ashley Ferrandiz, New Haven
 Kelly Fucillo, Le Moyne
 Molly Maroney, Le Moyne
 Jaclyn Sileo, C.W. Post
 Erica Pagiarulo, Rollins
 Kathleen Palasz, Rollins
 Brittany Philip, Queens (NC)
 Racquel Prager, Limestone
 Lauren Spagnoletta, C.W. Post
 Andrea Smith, West Chester

Second Team All-Americans
 Katherine Athens, Pfeiffer
 Brenna Bauer, Le Moyne
 Danica Cutshall, Regis
 Elyse Fisher, Lock Haven
 Jessica Fugate, Gannon
 Alexis Gabbe, New Haven
 Theresa Giunta, West Chester
 Samantha Lynott, Stonehill
 Marissa Mills, Adelphi
 Dominique Mosca, C.W. Post
 Ashley Olen, C.W. Post
 Sarah Oor, Limestone
 Kelsey Reilly, Stonehill
 Sophie Townsend, Rollins
 Jacqueline Williams, Adelphi

All-Rookie Squad
 Jackie Andersen, Dowling
 Megan Asper, Florida Southern
 Carly Ball, Bloomsburg
 Kathryn Campbell, New Haven
 Marissa Daly, St. Anselm
 Amy Ernst, Bentley
 Julie Falk, Bloomsburg
 Melissa Guglielmo, Dowling
 Rebecca Himes, Mercyhurst
 Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
 Danielle Jaycox, Adelphi
 Samantha McCarrick, Limestone
 Mary Minick, Lenoir-Rhyne
 Chelsea Pinneke, Rollins
 Allison Senft, Lenoir-Rhyne
 Madelyn Teel, Lenoir-Rhyne

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner