GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Brophy Named League's Player of the Year; Specian, Edelman & Diniz Also Represent Men's Volleyball on All-Conference Teams

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference Team honors in conjunction with the upcoming Conference Carolinas Championship Men’s Volleyball Tournament.  Mount Olive claimed the league regular season title in men's volleyball as conference regular season play concluded this past week. Pfeiffer University placed four members on the All-Conference teams including the league's Player of the Year in Caleb Brophy.

Mount Olive as the No. 1 seed along with No. 2 Pfeiffer receive quarterfinal byes.   Other first round match-ups will be No. 3 Lees-McRae hosting No. 6 Belmont Abbey on one side of the bracket while No. 4 Limestone hosts No. 5 Erskine on the other side in quarterfinal action Saturday, April 6. Men’s Volleyball Championship Link

Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote upon the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.  Each Men’s Volleyball All-Conference First, Second, and Third Team is made up of five position players, a libero, and a setter. Individual awards include Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, and Player of the Year.

Player of the Year
Caleb Brophy, Pfeiffer University- OH
Pfeiffer University’s Caleb Brophy led Conference Carolinas averaging 4.02 kills per set and 4.7 points per set with 317 kills in the regular season. Brophy posted 19 double-digit kill performances in 2013 reaching 20 kills on three different occasions saving his best for last with a season-high 24 at Erskine on April 3rd. Brophy will graduate from Pfeiffer as one of the best players of all-time holding more than a half-dozen school records in individual game, season and career records.

Defensive Player of the Year
Michael Schneck, Erskine College- L
Erskine’s libero Mike Schneck anchored the Fleet’s defensive efforts, leading the conference in digs (285) while averaging 2.64 digs per set. In addition, Schneck committed just 17 total serve reception errors on the season while averaging over 10 serve receptions per game.

Freshman of the Year
Mike Kawa, Erskine- OH
Erskine’s Mike Kawa proved to be a force at the net this season. Kawa recorded 379 kills, averaging 3.51 kills per set, while leading the team in blocks with 88. He also averaged over a dig per set and co-led the team in service aces.

Coach of the Year
David Heller, Mount Olive
In his first year at Mount Olive, David Heller led the Trojans to the 2013 Conference Carolinas men’s volleyball regular season title and the team’s highest single-season overall and conference wins total in program history. Mount Olive, which also compiled a school-record 15-match winning streak this year, finished the regular season with a 22-5 overall record and a 15-1 record in conference play. The Trojans are nationally ranked in the top three in three different NCAA Division I/Division II team statistical categories: No. 1 in service aces, No. 2 in winning percentage (behind AVCA nationally top-ranked Brigham Young) and No. 3 in hitting percentage.

Regular Season Champion
Mount Olive College

All-Conference 1st-Team
Angel Dache, Mount Olive - OH
Caleb Brophy, Pfeiffer - OH
Mike Kawa, Erskine - OH
Mike Michelau, Erksine - MH
Adam Miracle, Mount Olive - OH
David Specian, Pfeiffer – S
Michael Schneck, Erskine - L

All-Conference 2nd-Team
Andrew Miller, Limestone - MB
Joshua Jones, Lees-McRae – MB
Tim Ebbecke, Mount Olive – MB
Nolan Albrecht, Belmont Abbey – OH
Eric Edelman, Pfeiffer – OH
Ben Casado, Mount Olive – S
Efrain Negron, Lees-McRae - L

All-Conference 3rd-Team
Kevin Hart, Limestone - OH
Fabio Diniz, Pfeiffer – MB
Eric Zaun, Limestone – OH
Alex Rivero, Mount Olive – OH
Jose Ribas, Lees-McRae – OH
Randy Ramirez, Lees-McRae – S
Dan Arnold, Mount Olive - L

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner