GoFalconSports.com Falcons on FacebookFalcons on TwitterFalcons on YouTubeFalcons on InstagramRSS FeedMailing ListText BlastMobile Site


Konko Named Defender of the Year as Men's Lacrosse Lands Eight on All-Conference Teams

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Pfeiffer University's Jeff Konko was tabbed the league's best defender as the Falcons had eight selections in postseason honors as All-Conference awards were announced on Saturday morning.The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Men's Lacrosse Teams were determined by vote from each head coach of participating institutions.

Nominations are collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine First Team, Second Team, Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year award winners. Awards will be presented at the Conference Tournament Championships hosted by The City of Burlington in Burlington, NC at this weekend's conference championships. This year's award winners are as follows:

Player of the Year:

Riley Loewen – Limestone
Senior attack Riley Loewen earns his second career Conference Carolinas Player of the Year honor and his first outright. He shared the award in 2011 and this year's award represents four straight years that Limestone has had the league's top player. On the season Loewen leads the Saints in goals (40), assists (24) and points (64). He is second in the league in both points and goals and ranks third in the country in points and fifth in goals per game. His efforts have led Limestone to a No. 2 overall national ranking and the second best win percentage in the country.

Defender of the Year:
Jeff Konko - Pfeiffer
Jeff Konko has played in all 14 games for the Falcons leading the men to a No. 8 national ranking and 11-3 regular season record anchoring a defensive line that allows just eight goals a game. Konko has picked up 42 groundballs and caused 14 turnovers on defense while adding a goal and assist on the offensive side of the field.

Freshman of the Year:
Connor Sellars – Belmont Abbey
Connor Sellars is the Abbey’s fourth Conference Freshman of the Year honoree in the eight year history of the program, and is the first since the 2010 season. Sellars has scored 29 goals, second on the team, with 15 assists in 14 games. His 29 goals are tied for fifth in the league. He scored a career-high five goals against Limestone and added four in the win over Wingate.

Coach of the Year:
Michael Murphy – Mount Olive
Mount Olive Head Coach Michael Murphy piloted the Trojans to a 7-7 record in the program’s first year of existence. Murphy took a group of players with limited experience and led them within a game of qualifying for the Conference Carolinas Tournament. Murphy took over the team just four months before the start of the season.

Regular Season Champion:
Limestone College


Riley Loewen, Limestone
Dan Shields, Mount Olive
James Shepherd, Pfeiffer
Dan Marshall, Belmont Abbey

Steven Tilmon, Pfeiffer
Zach Cummings, Limestone
Kory Lutes, Pfeiffer
Tor Reinholdt, Limestone

Long Pole Midfield 
Mike Triolo, Pfeiffer

Connor Doyle, Belmont Abbey

Jake Ternosky, Limestone

Jeff Konko, Pfeiffer
Patrick Murphy, Queens
Glenn Trovato, Limestone

Hayden Kirk, Pfeiffer

Corey Rich, Limestone
Connor Sellars, Belmont Abbey
Garrett Chan, Queens

Dan Morrissey, Belmont Abbey
Jake Duarte, Mount Olive
Keith LeClair, Coker
Reid Reinholdt, Limestone

Khalid Stukes, Pfeiffer
Zac Clark, Pfeiffer

Sean Shewey, Mount Olive
Dillon Draper, Queens
Devin Cruz, Belmont Abbey
Jake Wojtowicz, Limestone

Christian Dzwilewski, Limestone
Ryan Harrison, Lees-McRae

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share

Pfeiffer UniversityFalcons on UstreamConference CarolinasNCAAAthleticsite.com Partner