Thursday, April 14, 2011

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Pfeiffer University senior third baseman Sarah Waylock was named to the Conference Carolinas All-Conference second team as announced by league officials on Thursday night. Teams were determined by vote from each head coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations are collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, and All-Conference Second Team.  Awards were presented at the Conference Carolinas softball team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships hosted by Coker College at Byerly Park, in Hartsville, S.C. 

This year’s award winners are as follows:

Player of the Year: Jessica McFadden-Barton College

Pitcher of the Year: Kelsey Spurrier-Erskine College

Freshman of the Year: Katie McElveen-Coker College

Coach of the Year: Merritt Yackey-Lees-McRae College

Regular Season Champion: Limestone College

All-Conference First Team:
Aubrey Reinhard-Mount Olive, 1st Base

Karli Robb-Lees-McRae, 2nd Base

Lindsey Huntsinger-Lees-McRae, 3rd Base

Kelly Minshew-Mount Olive, SS

Alyssa Bradshaw-Mount Olive, DP

Larissa Shannon-Erskine, UT

Hannah Mills- Limestone, Catcher

Robbin Kennedy- Mount Olive, Catcher

Jessica McFadden-Barton, Outfield

Jenna Guse-Limestone, Outfield

Morgan Purcell-Erskine, Outfield

Kelsey Spurrier-Erskine, Pitcher

Sydney Greenwalt-Coker, Pitcher

Emily Wallace- Limestone, Pitcher

All-Conference Second Team:
Kaitlyn Cheek-Queens, 1st Base 

Lindsey LaPrad-Erskine, 2nd Base

Sarah Waylock-Pfeiffer, 3rd Base

Whitney Brown-Erskine, SS

Becca Rothrock-Belmont Abbey, DP

Paige Coleman-Lees-McRae, UT

Emily Poulton-Queens, Catcher

Stacy Burr-Coker, Catcher

Anna Smart-Belmont Abbey, Outfield

Taylor Wigmore-Limestone, Outfield

Maria Goode-Queens, Outfield

Heather Richey-Erskine, Pitcher

Brandy Jester-Queens, Pitcher

Laurel Gregg-Lees-McRae, Pitcher