Thursday, February 23, 2012

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas is proud to announce the 2011-2012 Basketball Academic All-Conference award winners.  League member institutions stress the role of "Academics and Athletics Working Together" and each sport’s Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment. Pfeiffer University’s Brittany Cox and Sam Craven each made the list for Lady Falcon basketball.

The 2011-2012 Conference Carolinas Basketball Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Each year the Academic All-Conference Team is released while closing out each regular season before starting the tournament championships. The women will begin tournament play Monday, February 27 with quarterfinal games being played at the higher seeded team. The men immediately follow starting tournament play on Tuesday, February 28 with all games being played at the higher seeded team as well. The Conference Champions will be determined Saturday for the women and Sunday for the men.

Women’s Basketball Academic All-Conference Team
Janae Jackson, Barton College
Mariah White, Barton College
Alyx Ingram, Belmont Abbey College
Paula Regalado, Belmont Abbey College
Porsha Morgan, Erskine College
Brittany Fields, King College
Brittany Watson, King College
Brooke Johnson, King College
Kalen Collins, King College
Jana Gross, King College
Mikki Oliver, King College
Candace Flowers, Lees-McRae College
Sophie Witte, Lees-McRae College
Kaileigh West, Limestone College
Lauren Pace, Limestone College
Tia Williams, Limestone College
Whitney Lee, Limestone College
Ashleigh Edwards, North Greenville University
Karoline Stache, North Greenville University
Landrie Fox, North Greenville University
Savannah Newkirk, North Greenville University
Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer University
Sam Craven, Pfeiffer University