Thursday, November 7, 2013

High Point, NC- Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference teams during this week's Conference Carolinas Men's & Women's Soccer Championship Tournament. Pfeiffer placed four athletes on the teams, including midfielder Kayla Rodriguez and defender Kaitlin Sampson, who were named to the First Team All-Conference.

In addition to Rodriguez and Sampson, freshman Brae Buster earned Freshman of the Year accolades, as well as Second-Team All-Conference accolades. Last year’s freshman of the year, Aaliyah Jackson, was named to the Third Team.

The Falcons have a 12-6 record heading into today’s semifinal matchup against King at 2 p.m. Pfeiffer has recorded double-digit victory totals in seven of the past eight seasons and advanced to the Conference Tournament Semifinals for the fourth consecutive season.

Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year
Jodi Barber, Barton
Sophomore forward Jodi Barber became an immediate impact player for the Lady Bulldogs after transferring in to rejoin high school teammate Emily Futral. Barber finished the regular-season as the league’s leader in goals, assists and points. Barber then scored a golden goal in Barton’s first playoff win since 2005 on Monday to increase her totals to 15 goals, nine assists and 39 points. The Maysville, N.C., product entered postseason play ranked 14th nationally in NCAA Division II with 2.06 points per game.

Women's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year
Silvia Vazquez, Belmont Abbey
Belmont Abbey senior right back Silvia Vazquez was named the Conference Carolinas Defensive Player of the Year after anchoring a back line that has surrendered just three goals in Conference Carolinas games and just ten all season.  She commands a defense that leads the conference in goals against average, which is 17th nationally. The senior from Redwood City, California has started every match this season and has scored one goal, coming in the 4-0 win over Converse.
Women's Soccer Freshman of the Year
Brae Buster, Pfeiffer
Brae Buster scored five of her eight goals on the year in Conference Carolinas play and finished the regular season in the top 10 in goals, points, shots and game-winning goals. Her best performance came against Limestone on September 25, when she accounted for each of Pfeiffer’s two goals, including the winner with 33 seconds left in double overtime to secure the win. She also scored the decisive goal in a 1-0 win at Converse and had a three-game stretch in conference play where she scored four goals. Her offense helped the Falcons finish the year as the second highest scoring team in Conference Carolinas play.
Women's Soccer Coach of the Year
Chris Shaw, Barton
Coach Shaw inherited a women’s soccer program at Barton that had not qualified for the Conference Carolinas Tournament since 2008, which also marked the last winning season. Shaw transformed a team that was picked to finish ninth in the preseason coaches’ poll to a conference contender. The Lady Bulldogs finished the regular season with a 6-3 mark in league play to earn a third seed and a home playoff game. Coach Shaw’s team boasts a 14-5 overall record heading into the semifinals against defending champions Belmont Abbey.

Women's All-Conference 1st-Team
Jodi Barber, Barton -Forward
Sarah Mahar, Lees-McRae -Forward
Rachel Thorpe, King –Forward
Meagan Thornton, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Emily Futral, Barton -Midfielder
Kaitlyn Kerrigan, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Kayla Rodriguez, Pfeiffer –Midfielder
Silvia Vazquez, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Kaitlin Sampson, Pfeiffer -Defender
Kasey Byzewski, Barton -Defender
Hannah Kohls, Belmont Abbey -Goalkeeper
Women's All-Conference 2nd-Team
Ananda Gebreyesus, Belmont Abbey -Forward
Brae Buster, Pfeiffer -Forward
Meghan Philp, Belmont Abbey –Forward
Gabriella Reid, Limestone -Forward
Jillian Lang, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Mallory Overholt, Lees-McRae -Midfielder
Georgia Jones, Converse –Midfielder
Leeann Sullivan, Lees-McRae -Defender
Cara Woolford, North Greenville -Defender
Bekah Ramstack, King -Defender
Kathryn Tate, North Greenville -Goalkeeper
Women's All-Conference 3rd-Team
Aaliyah Jackson, Pfieffer -Forward
Ellie Barnes, Mount Olive -Forward
Lindsay Tuten, North Greenville –Forward
Cassidy Coutinho, Belmont Abbey -Midfielder
Natalie Johnson, Converse -Midfielder
Kathryn Smith, Barton –Midfielder
Mady Sully, Belmont Abbey -Defender
Leah Kennington, Limestone -Defender
Cheyenne Warrick, Lees-McRae -Defender
Ariana Smith, Lees-McRae -Defender
Kaitlyn Briggs, Lees-McRae -Goalkeeper
Women's Soccer Regular Season Champions
Lees-McRae College