Regis and Sherrill Named Pfeiffer Athletes of the Year

Regis and Sherrill Named Pfeiffer Athletes of the Year

MISENHEIMER, N.C . - Pfeiffer Athletics has announced the 2015-16 Athletes of the Year who will be honored at the Pfeiffer Sports Hall of Fame Ceremony on the evening of December 2. Men's soccer star Nathan Regis has been selected as the Male Athlete of the Year, while softball standout Vada Blue Sherrill earned the Female Athlete of the Year.

This is the second consecutive Athlete of the Year award for Regis who had the greatest soccer season in Pfeiffer history in 2015. The junior shattered the program record with 32 goals and 71 points and led the Falcons to a perfect 25-0 record along with a National Championship. Regis was named a Hero Sports and Ron Lenz National Player of the Year, an NSCAA All-American, a D2CCA Southeast Regional Player of the Year, First Team All-State, First Team All-Conference, Conference Carolinas Tournament MVP, Conference Carolinas Player of the Year and the NCAA Tournament Offensive MVP.

"It was very easy for us to pick Nathan," commented Pfeiffer's Vice President for Athletics, Bob Reasso. "I think he has been the best player in the country for the last three seasons. He is very humble and a hard worker who is constantly trying to improve. This great honor for him and its well deserved."

Sherill earns the award after an outstanding freshman season that saw her earn NFCA Division II All-Region and Second Team All-Conference selections. Sherrill also was named the Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year and earned a Conference Carolinas Player of the Week award. In her rookie campaign, Sherrill broke the Pfeiffer single season records for: walks (37), runs (58), stolen bases (51), on base percentage (.507) while playing in all 56 games. The Hiddenite, NC native was one of three players in the nation to record at least 50 hits, 50 runs and 50 stolen bases.

"Vada is very deserving, she lived up to her billing as a player," said Reasso. "She is an exceptional player, one with tremendous character. She did a great job of leading her team to the Conference Tournament Championship and then the NCAA Tournament."

The duo will be honored along with the 2016 Hall of Fame Class, consisting of Damien Argrett, Dacia Ijames, Tony Causby, Jim Keever and the 1978-79 Women's Basketball Team.

To register for the Sports Hall of Fame dinner, please visit