Hebberd Leads Seniors to Victory in Final Home Game of 2011 Knocking Off Queens 16-11

Hebberd Leads Seniors to Victory in Final Home Game of 2011 Knocking Off Queens 16-11

Box Score

MISENHEIMER, N.C. - In her final collegiate home game, Sarah Hebberd notched a game-high five goals to lead 15th-ranked Pfeiffer University to a 16-11 Conference Carolinas women's lacrosse victory over Queens on Saturday afternoon. The win gives Pfeiffer the #2 seed in next week's tournament improving to 10-5 overall, 5-1 in league play. The Royals who host next week's post-season event drops to 8-7, 4-2.

Both teams went back-and-forth early in the first half until the Lady Falcons registered the final seven goals to create the game's separation. Liz Melesh and Jessica Moulton put Pfeiffer up 2-0 in the first 8:10 of the contest until Queens responded with a tally from Brittany Philip at 21:11. After Hebberd hit on her first of the day just after Natalie Marvin, the Royals would again stop the run with goals from Shannon Casey and Arika Zimmerman for a 4-3 Pfeiffer lead.

From there, Pfeiffer would close out the half on their 7-0 starting with two more from Hebberd. Hebberd would add one more in the stretch while Moulton would assist on two of the three for an 11-3 lead at the break.

After a free position goal by the Lady Falcons' Alex Cook at 16:43 of the second, Queens would rattle off the next three for a 14-6 contest. Marvin would stop the first stretch by the Royals at 7:36 while Zimmerman and Kristi Kemp finished off another three-goal streak with 2:12 to play in a 15-9 game. Despite a pair of Amanda Martin goals in the final 71 seconds, Hebberd would help the Lady Falcons move on to their five goal win to clinch the tournament's number two seed.

Queens held the shots advantage 33-30 and draw controls 15-14. Pfeiffer led 33-31 in groundballs and 11-9 in caused turnovers. Kaitlin Booth made 13 saves in net for the Lady Falcons while Chelsea Lancashire made nine for the Royals.

Pfeiffer will wrap up its 2011 regular season on Tuesday with the conference finale at Erskine beginning at 3:00 p.m.