Pair of Falcons Earn Preseason Recognition on All-Region Team

Pair of Falcons Earn Preseason Recognition on All-Region Team

PEMBROKE, N.C. - The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) has announced its 2017 Division II Preseason All-Region Team and Pfeiffer's Derek Perry and Zach Scudder were named among the list of honorees.

Perry and Scudder earn Honorable Mention honors after strong 2016 campaigns. Perry, a junior, was a First Team All-Conference Carolinas selection a season ago after playing in all 54 games for the Falcons a season ago. Perry led the team with 42 runs and 69 hits and was second on the squad with nine stolen bases. The Liberty transfer hit 12 doubles, one triple, two homeruns and drove in 24 runs while hitting .325 in his first season with the Falcons. Perry reached base safely in 15 of his final 16 games and led Pfeiffer with 27 multiple hit games.

Scudder was also a First Team All-Conference performer a season ago and enters his senior campaign. The corner infielder led Pfeiffer with a .348 batting average and .613 slugging percentage and tied for the team lead with nine homeruns. In the middle of the season, Scudder had a 23 game hitting streak and finished the year with 35 runs batted in.

2017 Preseason All-Southeast Region Team

First Team

Starting Pitcher: Ethan Elliott, Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.); Dylan Ward, Barton College (N.C.); Bruce Zimmerman, Mount Olive (N.C.)

Relief Pitcher: Bryan Blanton, Catawba College (N.C.)

Catcher: Andrew Webster, Barton College (N.C.)

First Base: Henry Faunce, Erskine (S.C.)

Second Base: Zach Finchum, Tusculum (Tenn.)

Third Base: Derek Olenchuck, Newberry (S.C.)

Shortstop: Colin Rosenbaum, Belmont Abbey (N.C.)

Outfield: Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Garrett Lowery, Limestone (S.C.); Clint Hardy, Augusta (Ga.)

Designated Hitter: Zach Moon, USC-Aiken

Utility: Brooks Kennedy, Francis Marion (S.C.)

Honorable Mention

Starting PitcherAlex Calvert, Erskine (S.C.); Brighton Hudson, Mount Olive (N.C.); Brandon Koehler, Columbus State (Ga.); Blake Waldren, Belmont Abbey (N.C.)

First Base: Nathaniel Maggio, North Greenville (S.C.)

Second Base: Derek Perry, Pfeiffer (N.C.)

Third Base: Nick Nunziato, Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Zach Scudder, Pfeiffer (N.C.)

Shortstop: Brandon Benson, Georgia College; Calvin Hawke, Barton College (N.C.)

Outfield: Tyler Garrett, Barton College (N.C.); Logan Mattix, Georgia College; Mitchell Price, USC-Aiken; Daymon Totherow, Newberry (S.C.); Chase Watts, Erskine (S.C.)

Designated Hitter: Bradley Brown, Wingate (N.C.); Chris Rave, Erskine (S.C.)

Utility: Zach Almond, Catawba College (N.C.)