Perry Leads The Falcons To 5-4 Win Over N.C. Wesleyan

Perry Leads The Falcons To 5-4 Win Over N.C. Wesleyan

Misenheimer, N.C. -- The Pfeiffer baseball team (21-7) came away with a close 5-4 victory over N.C. Wesleyan (19-18) on Friday night at Joe Ferebee field for their 21st win of the season. Derek Perry was the hero of the night, as he belted an 8th inning solo homerun to give the Falcons a 5-4 lead that they would not relinquish.

Pfeiffer held a 3-0 advantage after 4 innings, including the first run of the game coming off of a double play hit into by Kyler Fairchild. In the 4th, shortstop Bryan Kowalski hit a two-run homer to left-center field to build the lead to 3-0.

The Battling Bishops would come back in the top of the 5th with three runs of their own to tie the game at 3. Max Johnson drove in the first run for N.C. Wesleyan with an RBI groundout. Brad Pennington would then come through with an infield single to bring the score to 3-2. Nate Gardner would tie the game at 3 with an RBI single to right field that scored Pennington.

After the Falcons took a 4-3 lead, The Bishops would come back again to tie the game in the 6th with a Brandon Wheat solo homer to left. With the game tied at 4, Derek Perry led off the bottom of the 8th with a solo shot off reliever Robert Burns for what would be the game winning run to put Pfeiffer up 5-4. Peyton Williams would nail down his 5th save of the season in the 9th to seal win number 21 on the year for the Falcons.

Cameron Reid would pick up the win out of the bullpen, while starter Nick Richmond got the no decision. Richmond went 7 innings while giving up 9 hits and 4 runs (2 earned). Richmond also struck out 9 N.C. Wesleyan batters on the night.

Derek Perry had a huge night at the plate. In addition to his game winning homer, Perry went 4-5 with a double. Catcher Chaston Gordon also had a big game, going 3-4. Jordan Eckard chipped in with a 2-5 night at the plate.

Pfeiffer will hit the field again on Sunday with a double header against the Battling Bishops. The first game is scheduled for 12 p.m., and game two is scheduled to start at approximately 3 p.m.