Calhoun Named to Bevo Francis Award Top 100 List

Calhoun Named to Bevo Francis Award Top 100 List

Baldwin City, Kan. -- Small College Basketball announced its first Watch List for the 2018 Bevo Francis Award which consists of 100 men's basketball players in the country who compete in the affiliations of NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA. The Falcons Josh Calhoun was selected to the list as the senior's scorching start to the season has people taking notice.

Calhoun has led the Falcons to an 11-0 record with some eye-popping numbers. The Rockingham, NC native is scoring 27.7 points per game and shooting 60.6 percent from the field and 57.0 percent from long range. On seven different occasions, Calhoun has scored 29 or more points, including a 46-point outburst against William Peace on New Year's Eve. Calhoun tied a program record with 10 made 3-pointers against the Pacers and hit 25 three's over a three-game stretch.  

"The Bevo Francis Award is a prestigious award that recognizes some of the best players in America, and our program is honored to have Josh Calhoun named to the Top 100 list," said Pfeiffer Head Coach Jeremy Currier. "Josh has worked incredibly hard since he came to Pfeiffer and I am glad that his hard work and dedication is being recognized. We are excited about the start of our season and look forward to the challenges ahead in upcoming games. We expect Josh will continue to lead our team on and off the court as we come down the stretch."

Members of the Bevo Francis Award committee include the following University president and coaches: Dr. Michelle Johnston – Rio Grande, Tobin Anderson - St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.), Drew Diener - Rockhurst (Mo.), Gerald Holmes - Bloomfield (N.J.), Gary Stewart - Stevenson (Md.), Arlen Galloway - Wentworth (Mass.), Tony Dominguez- Western Washington, Chris Briggs - Georgetown (Ky.), Bill Dreikosen - Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Klint Pleasant - Rochester (Mich.), Ryan Kane - Ripon (Wisc.), Mike McGrath - University of Chicago, Mark Berokoff – Randall (Okla.), Mike Donnelly – Florida Southern.

The committee chose this elite group from over 1,100 colleges and universities and took into consideration individual statistics, previous awards, milestones and team success.

On February 15, SCB will publish the next Watch List with 50 players. The list will be narrowed down to 25 players in a Watch List published on March 15. The finalists will be announced in a highlight video that will be released on March 31.

The 2018 Bevo Francis Award winner will be announced on April 2 but for the first time, the award will be presented to the award winner on May 19 at the newly created National Awards Show in conjunction with the SCB Alumni Association's Celebration of the Game event at the Crowne Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri.